Author Topic: What is "cool" to a cheese maker  (Read 5867 times)

jbrewton

What is "cool" to a cheese maker
« on: December 15, 2014, 06:17:30 PM »
Hi all, I am new to cheese making so I am soaking up as much as possible and the forum has been a great help.

My questions is when the instructions say "dissolve x amount of rennet into cool, non-chlorinated water", what is considered cool?  Is room temperature cool enough, or should I refrigerate my distilled water before using?

Offline Danbo

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 116
Re: What is "cool" to a cheese maker
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2014, 06:21:53 PM »
Personally I just use boiled water (non clorinated) that has reached room temperature.

:-) Danbo

Sweet Leaves Farm

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2014, 07:18:17 PM »
I have a well, so I just use well water at 55 or so degrees. If you use bottled water, or boiled water, room temp ( assuming its less than 75 degrees in your house) should be fine.

Offline ArnaudForestier

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 45
  • Default personal text
    • Paul's FB
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2014, 07:52:06 PM »
I keep chilled RO water in the refrigerator. 

Saw this somewhere, and it made sense to me:  I believe the reasoning is that as rennet works optimally somewhere in the '80's, if you add it in warm water and then into milk, you've essentially added in rennet with enzymes kicked to rock immediately; so you risk an uneven floc.  By diluting it in cold water, you keep it in a fairly inactive state and you can better assure a thorough mixing prior to enzymatic activation.
- Paul

jbrewton

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2014, 08:41:49 PM »
ArnaudForestier,

i will try using colder water.  Makes sense.  What does RO mean?

Offline ArnaudForestier

• Old Cheese
  • Default personal text
    • Paul's FB
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2014, 12:15:03 AM »