Author Topic: Questionable milk quality  (Read 2621 times)

Guiseppe

Questionable milk quality
« on: January 02, 2015, 11:12:47 AM »
I'm new to this game, so please bear with me on this.

I have only been making cheese for a 3 months and I'm on a steep learning curve.
I currently only have the one reference book to work from; my Christmas present cheesemaking book has not yet arrived (see below).

I live on a small Greek island which from a cheesemaking point of view is something of a mixed blessing.  We have no cows here but many sheep and goats.  The only cows milk available to me is from the supermarket and it is pasteurised and homogenised, the only choice is to take it or leave it.  All our cow's milk comes from mainland Greece and arrives by ferry.  If we have very bad weather we sometimes have no ferrys arriving for 5 or 6 days yet even when that happens the supermarkets never run out of milk.  The conclusion I draw from this is that at any given moment the supermarkets must have nearly a week's supply of cows milk in store and it surely follows that what I buy is at least a week old before it even gets on the shelves.

If that is the case I am wondering what process is used for the pasteurisation.  The milk is certainly not UHT but equally I suspect it may be pasteurised at a higher temperature or for longer than might be normal in order to retain a long shelf life.

I have made about a dozen batches of cheese so far, everything from farmhouse cheddar to stilton but with varying levels of success.  In a nutshell I rarely seem to get a firm set and the set I do get seems to take longer than any of my recipes suggest.  I suspect that the problem is the quality of the milk.  I am adding CaCl as recommended and using liquid vegetarian rennet but the dosing rate for each seems pretty varied depending on the recipe.