Author Topic: Help choose a cheese to master for beginner  (Read 4509 times)

francisco

Help choose a cheese to master for beginner
« on: February 10, 2015, 07:57:37 AM »
Hello, I’m a beginner cheesemaker and I want to choose one cheese to master during this year (or at least make a decent one). I primarily like stinky cheese, and if I had to choose one cheese I’d like to master is epoisses. However I’m not that ambitious and I’m perfectly fine trying something simpler.

Sample types of cheese I like:
Camembert
Epoisses
Reblochon
Coulomiers

I read somewhere that for someone that likes epoisses, munster could be a nice easier cheese to start with, I’ve never tried it but I’m willing to try it out. (http://www.cheesemaking.com/store/pg/209-Munster.html)

My requirements:
Relatively safe if anything goes wrong
Can be made with pasteurised milk (can get organic, non homogenised, non ultra-pasteurised)
Would like to to make in ~2Gal batches
Ageing of 1-2 months max, so I can iterate often
Availability of detailed recipes
More or less in sync with my tastes, prefer washed rind cheese

Lastly, I’ve made some fresh cheese already and done some reading. I’m capable of very precise measuring and meticulous note taking in order to achieve improve my method over subsequent batches. Also don’t care to invest in the right equipment (within reason).

Thanks!

WovenMeadows

Re: Help choose a cheese to master for beginner
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 01:53:19 PM »
I was planning on saying something like Gouda, until I read your list and preferences :)
In my experience, any of the washed-rind would not be the first thing I'd recommend to start with, as there's a lot of variables to fine-tune - e.g. curd pH, salt content, washing regime, cave humidity. Bloomy rinds like camembert are perhaps a better start.

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2015, 02:06:13 PM »