Author Topic: Cracking/weeping during air drying - Very new cheese maker questions  (Read 6270 times)

Sarahal88

Hi,

I am brand new to cheese making, and I am trying my first pressed cheese, a farmhouse cheddar.

While air drying, the cheese has developed a horizantal crack that is weeping whey. It has been air drying about a day and a half. From reading I understand the cracking may be because there is not enough humidity, or it could be because of poor sanitation which is also possible since this is a new process for me.

My question is, what should I do now? Can the cheese be waxed with the crack? Is it ruined? Will the crack dry out and then be waxable? I am sure this kind of question had been asked on here before but I wasn't able to get an answer about when/how to wax it with the crack.

Thank you.

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: Cracking/weeping during air drying - Very new cheese maker questions
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2015, 11:33:01 PM »
There are several possibilities.  Pressed very hard and the curds released. Late blowing.  Very dry rind.  Really hard to say.  What RH is the room where it dried?  What weight and how long did you press it?
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Sarahal88

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2015, 11:43:56 PM »
I pressed it at 50 pounds for ~12 hours (after doing 10lbs for 10 min, 20 lb for 10 min etc). Cracks didn't show up til after it started to dry. I have no idea what the RH in the room is - the recipe I was following just said "air dry at room temp" and I didn't think about humidity. It is cooold here so I am guesssing low humidity is defintiely at least one problem.  I read somewhere to put it in damp cheese cloth to try to restore some moisture so I am trying that.

But what can I do about waxing it?

Thanks!

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
    • Lou's Food & Drink
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2015, 11:47:31 PM »