Author Topic: Cracking/weeping during air drying - Very new cheese maker questions  (Read 6265 times)

WovenMeadows

Re: Cracking/weeping during air drying - Very new cheese maker questions
« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2015, 02:26:56 PM »
I'm going to disagree with the late-blowing diagnosis -- though honestly, I've never encountered it in person, so I may be blowing hot air, as it were. But the fact that it is leaking whey makes me think you may have pressed too much too quickly, trapping whey. And the "barrel" shape of the cheese in the picture makes me think the rind has dried out quite a bit.

Again, I'm no expert, so take this with a grain of salt ...

This is what my thought was too. The weeping of whey is the main issue IMO - the fact that it's weeping at all (nevermind that there's a crack) suggests the curd was too moist to begin with. What comes to mind is either that the curd was not cooked long enough before pressing, and/or it was pressed too hard, too fast once in the mold, trapping whey inside the wheel. Since they whey has lactose and moisture, this will probably result in a sour tasting cheese down the road from fermentation. (I speak from experience - before getting an idea of what the curds should look and feel like during the make process, my first few cheeses came out like this.) Since the cheese wheel itself is probably too moist, as the surface continue to dry it also shrank, and then the crack(s) formed.

John@PC

« Reply #16 on: February 17, 2015, 03:24:52 PM »
Hi Sarahal88 and welcome the forum.  What part of Va. are you?  My hometown is Covington I know it is definitely going to be cold up there the next couple of days.

Sarahal88

« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2015, 05:33:51 PM »
Thanks for all the input, it is really helpful.