Author Topic: Calcium Carbonate - As a Rennet Aid (Instead Of Calcium Chloride)?  (Read 12066 times)

alvinco

I am a newbie living in Manila, Philippines. I can't find any food grade calcium chloride. Available in drugstores were calcium lactate(lactic acid), calcium citrate(citric acid). Thanks for any info. 

wharris

Re: Calcium Carbonate - As a Rennet Aid (Instead Of Calcium Chloride)?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 01:23:25 AM »
I don't think so.

the_stain

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 02:01:32 AM »
Calcium Carbonate reacts with (and therefore neutralizes) acids quite well, and therefore I don't think it would be appropriate to use in cheesemaking because you need the acid.

Unfortunately, I also do not believe Calcium Citrate will give you the result (adding free calcium ions to the solution) that is desired as it does not have the solubility of CaCl2 or CaCO3.

linuxboy

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 04:03:19 AM »
I second that. Calcium citrate solubility is 0.085 g/100 mL, vs 74.5 g/100mL for calcium chloride. You want to restore the Ca2+ ion balance in the milk, that's why you're adding it in the first place, and the citrate just doesn't dissolve well enough into ionic solution. The carbonate will act as a buffer, so it's unusable as well.

Can you find some cacl2 on ebay and have it shipped internationally, then make your own 30% solution? That stuff lasts forever once in solution, but make sure you dehydrate the cacl2 for accurate measurement.

Cheese Head

« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 10:55:46 AM »
Alvin, great replies already, my only 2 cents is that while it's helps with getting a good curd set with pasteurized milk, it is not critical, you may just need a little extra rennet. So don;t let a lack of CaCl2 slow you down . . . ;)

alvinco

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2009, 06:14:58 AM »
Thanks guys for all your input.

MDSKPR

« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2009, 05:48:00 PM »