Author Topic: developing trust relationship w/new pH meter  (Read 1759 times)

Offline Susan38

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 28
  • Default personal text
developing trust relationship w/new pH meter
« on: August 09, 2019, 08:14:56 PM »
I finally purchased and am using a pH meter!  What most convinced me to get one is Ms. Caldwell's video on her website https://gianacliscaldwell.com/2017/01/21/ph-and-acid-in-cheesemaking/

Then I read this forum board, hemmed and hawed over which one to get, read the forum board again, etc. etc. and finally settled on the Extech Exstik 110.

I started playing around with it and first off noticed the temperature sensor was very slow, sometimes not coming to temperature at all (while comparing to dairy thermometer which is frequently calibrated to a lab quality mercury thermometer).  And some of the pH measurements seemed a little hooey.  I remember a forum post where someone else had a similar problem, contacted Extech and eventually had it replaced with a new one...so I thought that was the next step for me.  But I kept working with it and now I think it is OK.  I think the problems were due to me not cleaning it often enough, and, more importantly, swirling the gadget around in the liquid that is being measured!  Prior to this I was gingerly putting the probe into the liquid and leaving it in place, much as you might a thermometer.  Swirling it around really seems to kick the sensors into gear for some reason.  The thermometer is still slower than the pH reading, but it does now correspond to my other thermometers.  And the pH readings are very consistent now.  So I think the meter is OK?