Author Topic: Cambozola #1 4/1/15 Make  (Read 6628 times)

LoftyNotions

Cambozola #1 4/1/15 Make
« on: April 02, 2015, 06:41:05 PM »
If ever there was a cheese at cross-purposes, this is it. Develop blue mold on the inside, but only white mold on the outside. Maintain air space in the internal curd for blue development, yet keep a relatively smooth surface outside. Make it bluey, but make it gooey. :) Age it enough to develop some blue character, but not so much that it ammoniates and liquefies.

This is my first attempt at balancing all the factors necessary to get a product that somewhat satisfies both sets of criteria. It might be a total failure, but hopefully we’ll have enough information to know what direction to head next time. Whatever it turns out to be, chances are it’ll be edible.

I borrowed heavily from Jim Wallace’s Camblu recipe on the NEC site, and tweaked it a bit toward getting a little more blue. Time will tell…

Ingredients

3 gallons creamline milk
1 qt. heavy cream
4 or 5 cubes Flora Danica
45 drops rennet
¾ tsp 30% CaCl
Penicillium roqueforti
1/8 rounded tsp Penicillium candidum
1/32 rounded tsp Geotrichum candidum
2% salt

Process

Heat milk and cream to 90°F.
While heating add CaCl
When up to temperature, add Flora Danica. Let sit for 30 minutes, or until pH drops approx. 0.1
Add rennet. Floc time _12_minutes. X6 multiplier= _72_ until cut. (This was a little fast. I’ll cut rennet back to 40 drops next time).
Cut curds to ¾ to 1 inch. Rest 5 minutes and slowly stir for about 30 to 45 minutes. Curd should have some skin. Drain curd, but don’t let settle and clump. (pH at this point was 6.45).
Fill 4 molds (Reblochon approximately 1/3 full. Lightly sprinkle a little P. roqueforti on the curds in the molds. Keep away from the outsides.