Author Topic: How to calculate proper weight  (Read 2432 times)

johnr

How to calculate proper weight
« on: April 22, 2015, 11:52:59 PM »
Hi

I am new to cheese making but I like being very technical.  I find many recipes that call for vastly different ways to press and at different rates.  For example, Harvati is recommended by Peter to press at 1.5 lbs per pound of curds, yet on other recipes the weight is more like 8 pounds and then on others even more.  Is there a chart somewhere that really tells you the proper weight to use?. 

Also, I am sure that if my cheese is 6 inches vs 10 inches in diameter, that I may need to press at different rates.  How do you calculate the amount of pressure?.  I build a DIY press and can dial the pressure from 3 pounds to 210 pounds.

Thanks

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: How to calculate proper weight
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2015, 11:58:25 PM »
Cheeses are pressed at different rates and times to adjust the PH and to knit the curd properly.  There is no set chart.  Each is as individual as the recipe used to make it.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Stinky

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2015, 01:04:17 AM »
One thing to be careful about is to build up pressure. Start low, work up to final destination, or you'll trap moisture inside the cheese, lose butterfat, and squish cheese through cheesecloth.

Offline OzzieCheese

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 171
  • Sun-Grass-Cow-Milk-Cheese-Happiness
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2015, 02:33:12 AM »