Author Topic: Rennet loses potency  (Read 1494 times)

johnr

Rennet loses potency
« on: April 26, 2015, 07:22:46 PM »
Hi

I am new to making cheese and purchased veal rennet approx 1.5 months ago.  Since I purchased the rennet, I noticed that I either lose the cheese batch or I let it sit twice as long to really give me a clean cut.  I was chucking these issues to me being new. Today before I started a new batch I decided to test my rennet.

I ran two different tests and flocculation happened about 2 times later than expected.  I had to almost double the rennet to get to flocculate when it was supposed to.  So.... I decided to do just that with my batch of cheese today and flocculation was achieved at 11 minutes which is what it should have always been according to the recipes I use.

My question is how do I make sure that when I buy rennet, I don't get an old bottle?.  I have contacted the seller, pretty famous seller, and complained about the rennet.  But how do I know where to buy rennet that is not already weak by the time I get it?

Also, am I supposed to run through a flocculation test every time I am going to make cheese?.  If I have to titrate it will be difficult to know exactly how much I need to pad it to.

Thanks

Thanks

Kern

Re: Rennet loses potency
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2015, 07:34:29 PM »