Author Topic: Newbie cheesemaker with challenges!  (Read 684 times)

Seamonster

Newbie cheesemaker with challenges!
« on: May 20, 2015, 12:19:49 AM »
Hi,
I am new to cheesemaking. Have just made mozzarella and feta for the first time at home in NZ. They won't win any prizes, but they look like cheese!
I will be in the Uk for June and I will be buying supplies there, before heading off to strange places again.
I want to learn, so that I can make cheese on our sailing boat when we are anchored in remote locations where we can't buy edible cheese.  My main problem will be milk supply - my only reliable option is powdered milk, or worse still, UHT.  Any pointers to information about this would be appreciated.
My other challenges will be : no freezer, but good fridge and can make a small amount of ice; 
I have to buy any starters in the Uk and take them with me; oh, yeah and 35 degree heat and lots of humidity.....
Thanks for help

Offline smolt1

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 29
  • Default personal text
    • SturdyPress.com
Re: Newbie cheesemaker with challenges!
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2015, 01:35:37 AM »
You won't have to stir the curds just come up into the wind and let the boat stir for you. My wife and I cruised on a 32 ft sailboat for 5 years and I think that making anything except  fresh cheese like moz or fetta will be a real challenge on a sailboat.

qdog1955

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2015, 10:17:19 AM »
Fresh Latin American cheeses---like Queso Fresco, might be an option.
Qdog

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2015, 03:16:29 PM »
I'm concerned about the amount of success you will have with powdered or UHT milk -- ricotta, sure. But you may have trouble getting a curd set that can lead to other types of cheeses.

Maybe someone here will have some experience that will counter my concerns!
-- Andy

guerrillacheese

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2015, 01:42:58 PM »
Hey Seamonster