Author Topic: New to Cheese Making  (Read 2561 times)

KylieGoodwin

New to Cheese Making
« on: June 07, 2015, 02:37:58 AM »
 Hi everyone. I am new to cheese making and I m already addicted. I live I. North Queensland and milk my Brown Swiss and thought rather than giving milk away, why not make cheese. I can only do it ATM during the cooler months as he wine cooler doesn't hold the cool temps on a 40C day. So far my cheese attempts have been two Irish Whisky Cheddars, a chive cheddar, two farmhouse Cheddars, two Colby (they were my first attempts and have great flavour just a little dry. Could have been my dodgy method of pressing first time). Just finished Belper Knolle and now have two coastal blues on the to. Would love to know some great cheeses to try plus I think I need a bigger wine cooler as this cheese making is addictive.

bratrules1

Re: New to Cheese Making
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2015, 04:33:29 AM »
Looking good have your first cheese on me!!! :)

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2015, 05:20:29 AM »
Hi Kylie

Always nice to welcome another Aussie on board.
What a lovely looking array of cheeses. Please accept another from me.
- Andrew

shaneb

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2015, 06:27:16 AM »
Hi Kylie,

Welcome from another Aussie. Your cheeses look great. Have a cheese from me also.

Shane

Offline OzzieCheese

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 171
  • Sun-Grass-Cow-Milk-Cheese-Happiness
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2015, 12:14:21 AM »
WooHoo another Australian - !! there are more out there we just have to find them..  Welcome Kylie, and by the look of your impressive range so far - we'll be coming to you for what cheeses to make.  8).  There is an amazing collection of Artisan cheese makers here and are all too willing to lend a hand.  If it's worth making I'm sure someone here has ...
welcome aboard.

-- Mal