Author Topic: Swelling cheese  (Read 3324 times)

IllinoisCheeseHead

Swelling cheese
« on: June 20, 2015, 03:43:34 PM »
Hi

I am new to making cheese and for the past 8 weeks I have been making cheeses.  Out of my earlier cheeses, I am finding that 1 out of three swelled up a little bit and when I opened them today the smelled a little bad.

Here is my question.  I absolutely sanitize everything I use and don't think I am introducing anything yet cheeses out of the same batch of milk, one smelled excellent and was really good tasting and the other smelled bad and no.  I did not taste it.  Also the bad one had many holes while the good one only had very few.  The holes looked more mechanical than anything as they did not have any uniformity to them.  But on the bad cheese there was definitely a lot of holes.

Is there anything I can add to the milk to get rid of any bad bacteria without having to pasteurize? Is there any enzymes I can use that would not change the taste of the cheese or the flavor of the cheese?

Thanks

Kern

Re: Swelling cheese
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2015, 04:49:12 AM »
Your problem could come from several things.  Pictures would help as well as information about the make.  It sounds like you got the milk, made a cheese and then made a second and third cheese from the same milk.  Your comment about pasteurization implies that you used raw milk for these cheeses.  I assume that you didn't make these all at the same time.  Which of the series had the problem?  How had the milk been stored between the time you got it and made the cheeses?  How long had it been stored?  How much time elapsed between the time you made the cheese and when you first noticed the bloating?

IllinoisCheeseHead

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2015, 02:39:58 PM »
Hi Kern,