Author Topic: GC's Basic Tomme from raw Jersey milk  (Read 2533 times)

WisconsinDan

GC's Basic Tomme from raw Jersey milk
« on: July 17, 2015, 05:14:42 AM »
So this was my first shot at making a cheese with some raw Jersey milk. Got a discount for buying 6 gallons so it was day 1 of 3 for raw-milk-cheese-fun. Figured this is a pretty basic cheese and since this is my first time working with this milk it would be a good whey to get my feet wet because I have already made similar cheeses before only from P&H milk. Since it was a raw milk make I adjusted the rennet and culture amount and I must say this is the smoothest make I have ever had thus far. The yield was amazing compared to the P&H milk too. Not only did I drink a cup, but I lost about a pint of it due to one of the jars being too close to the fan in the fridge(it froze a large chunk which tasted like water after being thawed), but I still got more out of this make than I ever got from a 2 gallon P&H tomme. The make basically went as follows:

Just under 2 gallons raw jersey milk  starting pH=6.60
0.2g MA4001
1/4 tsp CaCl
0.60 mL double strength rennet
Heavy Brine

Heated to 84F, added cultures
Ripened 15 minutes
Add CaCl
Added rennet, flocculation occurred @ 12m 45s, 3.5 X flocculation factor
Cut into 3/8" cubes, pH-whey=6.50
Stir and increase to 100F over 30 minutes
It took 30 more minutes of stirring at 100F to get a springy texture
pH-whey-off=6.37
After 3h 45m of pressing pH=5.23

Notes: