Author Topic: old moldy cheese  (Read 2664 times)

kkouril

old moldy cheese
« on: July 19, 2015, 12:54:48 AM »
About a year ago i started playing with making hard cheeses. I made a few and was waiting for them to age,  wiping with brine,  cleaning of mold etc as the directions told me to. Well life got in the way of cheese making and they got left to their own devices. A few months later i checked and they were green and moldy. But i couldn't seem to bring myself to throw them out. I finally got the guts to go look closely at them. I had them labeled and everything but at some point those labels walked off so i don't even know what is what except a parmesian.  They are now very green but the rind looks intact. No cracks or anything. Most are just green, the parm has more white on it. I'm so tempted to cut into them but don't know if it is safe. So my question is what is unsafe to try? What should i be on the lookout for? Is it worth trying them or should i may throw them out?

Offline H-K-J

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 145
  • Act as if it were impossible to fail.
    • Cookin with uh dash dogs hair
Re: old moldy cheese
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2015, 03:37:58 PM »
Hi, Welcome to the forum,
Cut the cheeses, cut a small slice, remove the rind and have a small taste :P
If you have an immediate urge to make it to the home Thorne, you might not want to indulge in anymore :o
If it tastes good, Enjoy ^-^
BTW, picture's and taste reports are required ;)
Never hit a man with glasses, use a baseball bat!
http://cocker-spanial-hair-in-my-food.blogspot.com/

Offline OzzieCheese

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 171
  • Sun-Grass-Cow-Milk-Cheese-Happiness
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2015, 02:26:19 AM »
Oooo , I've had some great olden moldies . . As H-K-J suggests. Brush them well - wipe them over - cut and give them a little taste test.  My cheddars get a great green covering but still smell a little like mushrooms.

-- Mal