Author Topic: Bitter and ammoniac camembert  (Read 7160 times)

Lightbringer

Bitter and ammoniac camembert
« on: July 26, 2015, 03:23:32 PM »
Hello!
I'm a newbie in cheesemaking, here is my first camembert. It looks pretty nice inside, soft and creamy taste, but has rough bitter and unpleasant aftertaste, and cheese smells like ammonia.

I riped it for 3 weeks, in container on the drainage mat, with 9 C degrees.

Does anyone know, what is the problem?

Thanks in advance.

Lightbringer

Re: Bitter and ammoniac camembert
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2015, 03:36:07 PM »
This is the other one cheese, it ripes for 16 days now. It's going softer and ammoniac smell also getting stronger day by day.

Offline H-K-J

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 145
  • Act as if it were impossible to fail.
    • Cookin with uh dash dogs hair
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2015, 04:01:53 PM »
You might try airing them out for a 30 minutes too an hour every day for awhile,
also leave the lid on your ripening container open slightly
Never hit a man with glasses, use a baseball bat!
http://cocker-spanial-hair-in-my-food.blogspot.com/

Lightbringer

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2015, 04:23:17 PM »
You might try airing them out for a 30 minutes too an hour every day for awhile,
also leave the lid on your ripening container open slightly

I tried to air them out, it doesnt help. Thanks, will try to slightly open the lid.
Also, maybe something is wrong with the temperature? 9 C degrees is ok or should I make it lower? There is no way to make it higher, because for my fridge 9 deg is the max temperature.

JeffHamm

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2015, 10:52:36 PM »
Hi Lightbringer,