Author Topic: Derbyshire  (Read 1892 times)

DavidStaffs

Derbyshire
« on: September 18, 2015, 11:33:01 AM »
This is my first post after stalking the forum for almost 2 months and 15 cheese makes...

My gran's ashes are sprinkled between two English counties (Staffordshire and Derbyshire) at a wonderful spot known as Dovedale by the River Dove. I remember the place well as a visiting 15-year-old, and have been back numerous times. One time I drove from Malvern past it as a major snow storm threatened and the last time I travelled from Lincolnshire via train to Newcastle-under-Lyme and saw a covering of white snow across the midlands... My fantasy trilogy (I'm a writer by day) is based on the nearby town of Ilam near Dovedale... and I go there whenever I get the opportunity. So I'm please with my Dovedale Cheese... a hard Staffordshire (but blue  / brine dipped) and it is doing well. It's got another three weeks to age before it hits the 2 month minimum, but it needs a brush and a vinegar-brine wash. Before and after photos...

The make was as per the Staffordshire, (Jeff Hamm's make) (local Australian Barossa Valley non-homogenized jersey milk with MM100) with the exception of the adding of blue PC to the make, and punctured holes, and I brined it rather than rubbing salt over it.  So it might be a tiny bit unique?  It's got a few more weeks to go, but it smells blue-divine.  I may well cut a quarter...but can I wax a hard blue? Not sure...
« Last Edit: September 18, 2015, 12:10:53 PM by DavidStaffs »

DavidStaffs

Re: Derbyshire
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 12:03:35 PM »
Fresh from the mould at 1.9KG

JeffHamm

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2015, 06:14:10 PM »
A cheese to you for a wonderful looking Blue Staffordshire.  It looks to be coming along very nicely.  The blue mould needs air to grow properly, so don't wax it.  I would just cut into it and see how it is.  If it needs more time, make another! :)  I would think it will be about right though.

- Jeff