Author Topic: Experimenting with Valençay  (Read 6492 times)

sashap

Experimenting with Valençay
« on: September 21, 2015, 12:10:35 PM »
Two days ago I started an approximation of Valençay cheese. It is surely not Valençay, because the goat's milk is very rare here and very expensive, so I used raw cow's milk to simulate the process first. I like very much the idea of traditional lactic coagulation (with the addition of 4 drops of rennet) and the ash on the cheese, although I have only seen this cheese on the photos and have no idea of its taste... This is an experiment and the only purpose is to understand the basics of lactic set cheese and the ashing process. I'm still learning and need some assistance from the experts (please don't be humble, many of you have the knowledge that allows you to call yourself that).

Today is the third day of make and I want to clarify some points of the process.

Here's my make notes:

Day 1.

At 13:40 added cultures to 3l of raw fresh cow's milk (MM101, P.C. from a piece of frozen Camembert rind, 4 drops of rennet). The ambient temperature was perfect, so the milk was 22 degrees Celsius.

Day 2.

At 12:30 the curd was formed. It was softer than the rennet coagulated curd, but still workable. Decided to pre-drain. I put it in a big ricotta basket, lined with two layers of cheesecloth, to allow it to drain very slowly.

Question 1. On every picture of lactic coagulated cheese, the whey surface was very clear, mine was full of cream (I skimmed it to use later, it has a very nice taste and it was a shame to drain it in the sink). Am I doing something wrong or it is supposed to rise on top?  Is there a possibility to incorporate the fat into the curds?

After 3h of pre-draining, I ladled the curds into two molds (one pyramid and one small mold for pressed cheeses).

Day 3 (today).