Author Topic: What do I do now??  (Read 2792 times)

Denise

What do I do now??
« on: October 24, 2015, 07:22:18 AM »
This is my first attempt at making Camembert. I followed the recipe in 200 Easy Cheeses more or less to the letter except that I halved quantities to give me two cheeses. I put them in a tupperware box in the cheese cave at 10℃ and turned them twice a day, and after the 12 days mentioned in the recipe they had developed a nice fluffy white surface mould. The instructions are to 'wrap and return to the ripening area', so I wrapped them in kitchen paper (haven't got any proper cheese paper), put them back in the tupper and put the tupper back in the cave.

Questions:
1. Now that they're wrapped, do I have to leave them in the tupper box? Can I save space by putting them in (e.g.) ziplock bags?
2. Should I still be turning them over twice a day? Once a day? Once or twice a week?
3. If I put one of the cheeses in the cold fridge now, will it be ripened just in time for Christmas?

Offline Jules

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 9
    • Cheese History
Re: What do I do now??
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 09:24:15 PM »
Hi Denise.

Nice looking camembert you've got there.

I just recently wrapped my first batch of camembert as well, but in cheese wrap. Since then I have been keeping it at the bottom of the fridge (but not in any container) as I don't have a cave I can get to 10 degrees C.
I am hoping they will be ready long before Christmas - my recipe (from Mad Millie) said 3-4 weeks after wrapping at 5-10 degrees C, so that makes it mid November, but every other stage has taken longer than the recipe said because of the lower temperature in the fridge.
I haven't turned them yet but probably should sometime soon (it has been a week).

Sorry that is not too helpful - just thought I would put forward what I am doing.
I make cheese and videos about the history of cheese.

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240