Author Topic: Michigan!  (Read 1317 times)

Lv9_Engineer

Michigan!
« on: December 08, 2015, 01:08:46 PM »
Hi everyone, glad to be here. I live in Metro Detroit, and have been in this area for more than 20 years.

I've been researching cheese and other fermented milk products for a while, as I tend to do with various food items from time to time, but this one stuck in my mind for being deceptively deep. I'm excited to make cheese making a hobby of mine. I know I'll get a lot of valuable help and insight from the forum, which is why I've joined.

Some unrelated things: I have a degree in electrical engineering, I have 2 cats and a dog, I have a wife but no kids, and I play violin.

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
Re: Michigan!
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2015, 03:32:17 PM »
Welcome, Lv9! This is a great forum, filled with interesting characters enthusiastic cheesemakers, including some other engineers. Enjoy!
-- Andy

Lv9_Engineer

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2015, 06:35:00 PM »
Thanks for the welcome! Much appreciated.  :D

I plan on starting with some faster stuff like cream cheese... I'm excited to become comfortable with more involved cheeses, but don't want to rush into it. Any recommendations for beginner cheeses are appreciated as well.

Offline OzzieCheese

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 171
  • Sun-Grass-Cow-Milk-Cheese-Happiness
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2015, 09:54:53 PM »