Author Topic: Wedding in 9 weeks - cheese ideas please?  (Read 1383 times)

hilltop1400

Wedding in 9 weeks - cheese ideas please?
« on: January 10, 2016, 07:05:21 AM »
My daughter made a surprise announcement - getting married in 9 weeks.  I will have a stirred cheddar and Cantal ready but no blue or other interesting cheese to add to the cheese board.  Any ideas apart from camembert/brie?  I am still rather new at cheesemaking but happy to try anything!  I just need some ideas from those familiar with cheese types and affinage.

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: Wedding in 9 weeks - cheese ideas please?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 03:10:20 PM »
If you start today you could probably do a reasonable blue in that time.  Also Epoisse?
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Stinky

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 04:10:38 PM »
Caerphilly, Lancashire, Butterkäse, Asiago

hilltop1400

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2016, 11:42:39 PM »
Thanks for the suggestions.  I have located recipes for all but the Epoisse. Will do a forum search for the Epoisse and a 2 month blue.  Cheers.

Kern

« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 02:13:16 AM »
hilltop1400:  Al Lewis is modest.  Take a look at the huge blue he made about a week ago http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/topic,15147.msg116109.html#new.  Since your wedding guests will not likely be French you could probably get away with this as one of your cheeses.  Besides, knowing Al it is likely to be a very good cheese indeed!   ;)

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2016, 03:02:34 PM »
Along with the other suggestions, consider making one Lancashire "plain," and one rubbed with olive oil and smoked paprika. Also, what about a fresh cheese or two? Maybe a cream cheese?
-- Andy

Kern

« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2016, 11:11:54 PM »
ht1400,