Author Topic: Belper Knolle  (Read 1733 times)

KattGatt

Belper Knolle
« on: February 21, 2016, 03:08:03 AM »
   Hi, newbie here. Currently I have some Belper Knolle, that  I have aging for 2 weeks. I checked tonight to turn and it has blue mold rounds on it !! I don't think is is supposed to be this way. So, asking all of you, should I toss it out or can I scrape the mold off? I am thinking too high humidity? I do not have a chhese cave, am trying to find a wine fridge. Thanks for any advise!! Kathie

Offline Schnecken Slayer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 22
  • Making cheese since October 2012
Re: Belper Knolle
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 07:07:21 AM »
Welcome Kathie,

Scrape the mold off and wipe down with a saturated salt and vinegar solution. You can recoat if you want.
All is not lost! it takes a while for the molds to infiltrate the cheese itself.

Post pics if you are still unsure.  :)
-Bill
One day I will add something here...

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2016, 04:39:31 PM »
Welcome to the forum Kathie!  I also got a spot of blue on one of mine.  I just brushed it off, let them sit out for 8 hours to dry a bit on the outside and put them back in the cave.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Kern

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2016, 08:24:55 PM »
   Hi, newbie here. Currently I have some Belper Knolle, that  I have aging for 2 weeks. I checked tonight to turn and it has blue mold rounds on it !! I don't think is is supposed to be this way. So, asking all of you, should I toss it out or can I scrape the mold off? I am thinking too high humidity? I do not have a chhese cave, am trying to find a wine fridge. Thanks for any advise!!