Author Topic: Grocery store milk for mozzerella  (Read 2894 times)

scootjeezy

Grocery store milk for mozzerella
« on: March 14, 2016, 12:35:44 PM »
Hello my friends!
I failed miserably at making my first mozzarella yesterday (it was all crumbly).  I have since learned that I did not use the correct milk.  I wanted to see if anyone knew of a brand of milk in the grocery store that I could actually use.  I heard Organic Valley Grassmilk works but haven't been able to find it.  Does anyone know any other milk I can readily find that might work?

Thanks for your help!

mswhin63

Re: Grocery store milk for mozzerella
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2016, 11:39:39 PM »
I personally have had success with the lowest cost milk store bought in Australia, but I am not experienced enough to offer advice.

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2016, 07:11:56 PM »
We probably need a bit more detail to help diagnose: Were you using a 30-minute type recipe (adding acid to the milk), or a cultured recipe? When you say "crumbly," do you mean that you never really got curds (just ricotta), or that your curds wouldn't stretch, but just fell apart on you?

By the way, welcome to the forum!
-- Andy

scootjeezy

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2016, 12:47:27 PM »
Thank you so much for your reply and the warm welcome!

I used this recipe: http://www.seriouseats.com/2015/10/how-to-make-fresh-mozzarella-from-scratch.html
Not sure if its a good one or not  :o

We were able to get curds but the curds wouldn't stretch and fell apart.  Let me know your thoughts!  Thanks again!  I really appreciate the help!

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2016, 03:21:15 PM »