Author Topic: My Crottin has an identity crisis (first attempt at a 'proper' cheese)  (Read 3921 times)

KindofBleu

Total newbie here – as in – got into this hobby about a month ago. Made a bunch of fresh cheeses and yoghurt and a horrendously wrong Bulgarian feta and decided to go for the real deal: Camembert and Crottin. The camembert is looking good, as in looking the way it’s supposed to look, which is encouraging (but this is a lactic set forum, so forget about the cams).

However, with the crottin, what I have is a cheese that was supposed to be three crottins (aged 8 days, 21 days, and a couple of months, as a learning experiment), but my crottin molds didn’t arrive in time, and it was late in the day, and I had a camembert mold, and long story short here is the result on day 10 (it’s 4x1.5 inches in size, just fyi):

Meaning, it’s essentially a mini Humbolt Fog without the ash layer. And no way to experiment with different aging times.

So – what do I do? There’s lots of mold growth and even though I’ve been tapping it down, I fear I might get toad skin if I leave it in my little plastic container any longer. I don’t want to eat it as a sort of fresh cheese, since it seems like a waste of effort already put in. Should I treat it like an ash-less Humbolt and wrap it and put it in the fridge for a couple of weeks? More than a couple of weeks?

P.S. The recipe was the basic lactic-set bloomy rind from Caldwell’s book (though she gives no directions as to aging times). I used raw goat’s milk, MA4001, PC + GEO, a drop of rennet, about 24 hrs of ripening, no cutting of the curd, no pre-draining, just careful ladling into a camembert form (so it was a pretty wet cheese at first and a trip to the local store was needed to grab a tiny usb-powered fan to facilitate drying).