Author Topic: cross contamination  (Read 1073 times)

m1shootr

cross contamination
« on: March 29, 2016, 08:28:05 PM »
Can I age different cheeses (blue, hard cheeses etc.) in the same cooler without risk of them contaminating each other? I'm a noob at this. I currently have Coastal blue, Jarlesberg, Parmesan, Cheddar and Manchego. The Jarlsberg and Cheddar are waxed. Also, on another subject , all of the heavy cream at the stores is ultra pasteurized. Will  adding it to whole milk work for Stilton?
« Last Edit: March 29, 2016, 08:37:01 PM by m1shootr »

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: cross contamination
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2016, 08:57:46 PM »
I have found that wrapping a blue in butter muslin and storing it on the bottom shelf will control the PR somewhat but it will still eventually spread do your other cheeses.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2016, 07:13:53 PM by Al Lewis »
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
Re: cross contamination
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2016, 05:53:34 PM »
As Al said, no way to avoid the cheeses "sharing" with each other -- but at the same time, this is a problem that can be managed. Options:

1) Wash / scrub / scrape your cheeses -- whenever a spot appears, wipe it off with a paper towel moistened with white wine or with vinegar; vinegar+salt makes an effective scrubbing compound if you need more aggressive cleaning. Sometimes if the mold is just barely on the surface, I have lightly scraped it off without compromising the rind underneath. This option can be combined with either/both of the next two options ...