Author Topic: Hello from Atlanta Georgia  (Read 1302 times)

Offline gathwaegl

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 21
  • Default personal text
Hello from Atlanta Georgia
« on: April 09, 2016, 09:27:06 PM »
Hello!

My name is theresa and I am a newbie cheese maker. A bit about me: I am a P.h.D candidate at Georgia State University in Atlanta, Georgia in the U.S. I study chemistry and I specialize in organic/medicinal chemistry. I have a deep interest in sustainability and I am currently on a personal journey to reduce the amount of trash I produce and buy locally where I can.

...however, as a student, I don't make a lot of money, so a lot of this journey so far has been making my own cleaning products, and making my own cosmetics which are easy on my bank account. Limiting or eliminating plastic in my life is a goal I'd like to reach, but I eat cheese and I eat meat and there's no place that I know of near me where I can buy package free or plastic free without hurting my wallet. So, just like my cleaning products and cosmetic/hygiene products, I decided to figure out how to make my own and started reading about cheese making. I looked through several blogs, websites and found a few books but my favorite book so far has been 'On Food and Cooking' by Harold McGee (because I'm a science nerd). While reading about cheese making, I went pretty far down the rabbit hole to the point where I was on the hunt for an old dorm fridge or wine cooler.