Author Topic: Potential cheese vat  (Read 3804 times)

Offline FooKayaks2

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Default personal text
Potential cheese vat
« on: May 15, 2016, 12:59:46 AM »
Hi everyone,

I have been lurking here for a fair while now. I have been making cheese for over 4 years now and have learnt a lot of from everyone here. I particular like making alpine cheese. My current cheese project over the last 6 months and probably the next few has been making cheese for my wedding next January. This provided a great excuse to upgrade my small wine fridge  to a 470 litre fridge. In the cheese cave for the wedding already is 1x cloth bound cheddar, 1 x cantal, 1 x Beaufort, 1x appenzellar, 1 x alpkase, and a tomme. Somewhere around 21kg of cheese.

I currently make cheese in a 30l stainless pot on direct heat, I find with careful stirring and attention I manage not too get uneven heating.

I have been keeping my eye out for something larger to make cheese in, not for now but when we move back to Tasmania In a few  years time and have foundation 70-80 litre jacketed stainless steel vessel for what seems like a good price that was used in a micro brewery.

There are a couple of pictures attached. Measurements of the internals are apparently 50cm x 50cm.

My plan for heating was to look at making a small closed loop with a circulation pump and heating element and a PID controller.

The reason for my post was that I am after some opinions on the vessel and what limitations others can see.

I would probably prefer something wider and less deep, and I am going to have to address the pipe lengths from the vessel to the valving for cleaning etc.

What does everyone think?

Thanks in advance
Mathew

Kern

Re: Potential cheese vat
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2016, 01:49:20 AM »