Author Topic: hello from Arizona  (Read 1450 times)

Ariel301

hello from Arizona
« on: June 05, 2009, 02:54:11 AM »
Hello everyone,

I just found this forum and am excited to see what I can learn here. I am just starting out in making my own cheese, and I haven't been terribly successful yet, but I'm still trying.

I am 24 years old and female. My husband and I were married three months ago and moved in with his parents due to unemployment and the bad economy; we were in Colorado but could not afford to live there anymore. We are blessed to have seven acres of beautiful desert, where we can keep our six dairy goats--Grace, Flora, Ebony, Buck, Bonnie, and an unnamed buckling we're raising to butcher. We also have a horse (not for dairy purposes lol...), two cats, and an aquarium. We are working on growing an organic vegetable garden as well, but most plants aren't thriving in the dry Arizona heat. We should have better luck growing things in the winter time, I think.

Besides goats and cheese, I enjoy art, gardening, cooking,horseback riding, quilting, raising tropical fish, hiking, reading, and religion. So I am fairly busy with all of that! I just got a new job as a nurse's aide at an Alzheimer's treatment facility, where I will start working on monday, and my husband is in training to become a rabbi.

I guess that's a decent introduction to myself. Anything else you want to know, just ask. =)

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: hello from Arizona
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2009, 04:23:52 AM »
Welcome Ariel. Some really talented folks here all willing to share!

Cheese Head

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2009, 10:36:21 AM »
Morning Ariel301 and welcome to this forum! Very nice intro, I have no idea about farming but I do find it interesting how many people name their animals (except I assume SwissBrowns as has 100 diary cows). Congrats on marriage and new job, keep trying on cheese!

zenith1