Author Topic: "Bargain" Milk  (Read 2373 times)

Zara

"Bargain" Milk
« on: June 05, 2009, 09:16:59 PM »
OK so I was in the grocery and noticed that they have organic milk, near it's sell-by date, for $1.50 a gal!!!!

Is there any reason why AGE of the milk makes it less appropriate for using for cheese?

I was thinking I can take it home, "re-pasteurize" it (is that a word?), and use it like any other storebought milk, right?  Or am I dreaming?

They almost always have some of the organic stuff marked down very cheap, I guess it doesn't sell as fast as it should.

I'm not very experienced with store milk - is there a compelling reason why I should steer clear of this? What else happens to milk as it sits on a shelf besides rising bacteria count? Do other reactions take place over time taht will leave it unsuitable? Would pasteurizing it AGAIN leave it far off center?

mike_i

Re: "Bargain" Milk
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2009, 02:55:26 AM »
i don't see any reason you couldn't use it to make cheese. I would use it as soon as possible and would not pasteurize it again. You don't want to use ultra pasteurized milk. I buy my raw milk when it goes to half price just about 3 to 4 days before the sell by date.

Mike

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2009, 04:49:16 AM »
It is always best to use the freshest posible milk but for many cheese it won't matter.

linuxboy

« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2009, 05:16:33 AM »
It all depends on the milk. Pasteurized milk has very little to none lactic bacteria, but still has putrefactic microorganisms. That's why pasteurized milk will go bad and not sour. Repasteurizing won't do much good.