Author Topic: Hello from Virginia  (Read 2083 times)

goatherdess

Hello from Virginia
« on: June 10, 2009, 12:05:51 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I've been reading this forum for a while now and it looks like so much fun I just had to join!

I have been raising dairy goats for about 15 years now, and making soft and hard waxed cheeses for about 5 years. I hope I might be able bring some of that to the forum. My current cheese projects:
1. Learn more about mold-ripened cheeses, about which I am clueless.
2. Finish perfecting and standardizing my small batch recipies which I hope to publish in a book for people who want to work with 1 gallon of milk or less.
3. Decide which direction our farm is going to go in the next couple of years - upgrade to professional, regulated dairy, or sell some beautiful, productive milking does just because we don't need any more.
4. Figure out how to catch, culture, and tame the wild, but delicious culture that keeps cropping up in some of my cheeses.

Goatherdess

Ariel301

Re: Hello from Virginia
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 02:56:56 AM »
Hello and welcome!

You sound like you've got lots of experience. I look forward to learning from you; and would be interested in your book because I make my cheese in small batches around a gallon. What kind of goats do you keep?

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2009, 03:11:10 AM »
Welcome aboard Goatherdess. Sound like you will have alot of good input.

Captain Caprine

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 01:56:36 PM »
Hi Goatherdess,
Welcome to the forum.  It's always good to see more goat folks coming in.  I can relate to your 3rd point about getting overrun with nice does.  We are working on a business plan and giving serious thought to the design of the milking parlor in the new barn we are designing and plan to build next year.
Cheers
CC
« Last Edit: June 14, 2009, 02:58:56 PM by Captain Caprine »

linuxboy