Author Topic: Brie #2 question about aging  (Read 7265 times)

AeonSam

Brie #2 question about aging
« on: October 11, 2016, 01:47:37 AM »
Hello, I'm a total newbie,

I just had a quick question about aging my 2nd batch of Brie. I read somewhere that I can age them quick enough to be eaten in 3 to 4 weeks if I keep them at 54F/12C or I can age them slower in my cold fridge for up to 8 weeks.

Do you find this to be true and if so, do you find that there's a marked difference in flavor and texture?

Thanks! AeonSam

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: Brie #2 question about aging
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2016, 10:38:23 AM »
I've always aged mine in the cave at 54°F 85% RH.  Mal, OzzieCheese, does his for the 6 weeks in the fridge.  They both seem to come out great.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2016, 02:50:54 PM »
I prefer the slower aging in the cold fridge - I *think* this helps to avoid slip-skin, and lets more flavor develop ... but to be honest, I've never tried aging it any other way! Since Al gets great results aging it faster, I should try it to see how I like that. Maybe the next round, I'll put one in the cold fridge and one in the "cave" and compare ...
-- Andy

AeonSam

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2016, 04:26:53 PM »
Thanks Al Lewis - It's hard enough for me to wait 4 weeks so that's good news!

Awakephd - Good luck. Lemme know how it goes. I'm going to age these two in the warmer fridge.

Will post pics

valley ranch

« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2016, 04:53:23 PM »
Greetings Sam,Are these dedicated fridges, for your cheese? I may get brave enough to try Brie, I may. Hope you'll update when you open these!

AeonSam

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2016, 06:23:53 PM »
Greetings to you Valley Ranch,