Author Topic: 2nd Butterkase with a Brine Question  (Read 1662 times)

AeonSam

2nd Butterkase with a Brine Question
« on: November 15, 2016, 02:16:47 PM »
Hey Guys,

This is my 2nd Butterkase and 2nd Washed curd cheese ever. I used a slight filter for the picture. I think this turned out well but I fell asleep and left this in the Brine for 2 hours longer than the recipe and this wheel dried much faster than my first wheel. It is also much colder now in the house with my hygrometer saying that we have 35% humidity in the house.

Do you think it was the longer brining time or the house humidity that dried the cheese quicker? Could it be both?

This is my first time using brine and the level of brine is going down in the container. Do you just add more water with salt or do you add a gallon of  water with a precise amount of salt?

Sorry, my last question. Do you think a salometer is needed?

Sam

Offline Danbo

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 116
Re: 2nd Butterkase with a Brine Question
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2016, 03:45:33 PM »
Very nice image! :)

How much the two hours have to say depends on the size of the cheese. I just brined a 2 kg gouda. According to the recipe the cheese should brine 18-24 hours. In this case 2 hours is not a big deal - around plus minus 10 percent.

Your cheese is not as large (I think) - hense 2 hours is a relatively bigger difference from your target. Maybe the cheese might become somewhat salty but I don't think that the extra time in the brine is the biggest reason for the fast drying...

35% relative air humidity is extremely dry. Normally I dry my cheeses at around 85% / 13 deg. C. I think that this is the biggest issue.

Maybe you can make a box for the cheese to maintain some of the humidity?