Author Topic: Port Salut #2  (Read 3342 times)

tashad

Port Salut #2
« on: November 19, 2016, 07:42:40 PM »
This is my second attempt at port salut, but it's a first in a few other ways.  I basically stuck to the recipe as far as times go, but tried to make a point of checking ph at various stages, and checking for flocculation. The recipe I'm using doesn't have ph markers or floc multiplier, I just wanted to get an idea of what's what and get used to those things so I can start to use them.  This is my first time using a ph meter, and I found the results confusing.

10L creamline milk 3.25%
1/2 tsp Meso II
1/8 tsp b. linens (SR3)
tiny smidge of geo 15
3/4 tsp calf rennet, diluted
3/4 tsp calcium chloride, diluted

- warmed milk to 90F in the food warmer.  While the bulk of the milk was slowly warming, I prewarmed 1c of milk to temp and added the meso II, to try and give it a bit of a jump start on waking up.
- Once the milk was at temp, added the 1c of milk, the b. linens and geo.  ph of the milk prior to adding cultures read 6.52
- maintain temp and ripen 1 hour - ph midway through ripening read 6.67
- add CaCl and stir well
- add rennet - floc time 9.5 min.  ph at renneting 6.55
- clean break after 30 min, cut curd to 1/2" and let rest 5 minutes
- stir 10 minutes and let settle
- remove 3L whey and replace w/ 140F water to raise temp to 92.  I only added 2L of 140 water, because it brought the temp up to 95.
- stir 10 min and let settle
- remove 2L whey, and replace w/ warm water (approx 130) to bring temp to 98. 
- stir 10 min and let settle - all through the washing, I didn't write down ph, it was around 6.7 each time
- scoop off most of whey, scoop curds and whey into lined tomme mold and press under light pressure (about 5lb) with the mold sitting in the whey.
- flip/redress and using press inside food warmer, press at medium weight 30 min, 30 min, 60 minutes, overnight.  Curd ph after 60 minute press was 6.37.