Author Topic: Buttery brie recipe/techniques  (Read 1406 times)

backyardanarchist

Buttery brie recipe/techniques
« on: December 14, 2016, 10:46:04 PM »
Hello. I have just began my adventures in cheesemaking. And brie is the one that I can't nail down. I'm fond of the brie that has a thick custard like paste and a strong buttery mushroom taste. Except my last brie ran a lot and had a very bitter and acidic taste. I just got a ph meter and a good thermometer. I have a cave that fluctuates between 50f -55f

I would love to know what you do to get the perfect brie.

I'm a chemist so I would be very interested in whats going on  inside that turns the curd to brie.

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115
  • Default personal text
Re: Buttery brie recipe/techniques
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2016, 05:13:30 AM »
I haven't made Brie but I have done Camemberts which are pretty similar.
Many of those who make Camembert advocate reducing the temperature to about 4-8C (~40-45F)after a couple of weeks, once you have a good coverage of white mould. That should help to solve the problem of it going too runny too quickly.
- Andrew

Offline Danbo

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 116
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2016, 06:40:39 AM »
Look for recipe for "stabilized brie"... :)

AeonSam

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2016, 11:14:20 PM »