Author Topic: Making a hard cheese without a press?  (Read 1618 times)

nym

Making a hard cheese without a press?
« on: January 24, 2017, 02:01:55 PM »
Hi All

I've been making cheeses for about nine months and have had a few successes (and failures) with blues and bloomy rinds.
I'm going to carry on experimenting with these but I would really love to try a hard cheese and I've been looking at the recipe for the quick maturing Lancashire which has been discussed on this board.
But it seems that to try this (or any hard cheese?) I'm going to have to be able to apply substantial amounts of pressure to the mould. I've acquired bits and pieces of equipment over time but I can't justify buying a cheese press at the moment. At best I might be able to get up to ~15Kg by stacking up my kitchen weights and my son's diving weights (!).
Is there any recipe that I could attempt with this set up? I'd love to try the Lancashire (I was born in Lancashire) but suggestions for any hard cheese would be very welcome.

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: Making a hard cheese without a press?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2017, 02:07:49 PM »
With that weight you could probably do an Emmentaler (Swiss Cheese) but I don't think you could do a "hard" cheese.  I could be wrong though so wait for some other inputs.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

AnnDee

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2017, 06:34:39 PM »
How about Havarti or better yet, Tomme? Havarti needs about 7-8 kgs pressing for 8 liters batch and Tomme only need as much as it's own weight to press it. I think you also can make most of Alpine/Swiss cheese, they requires very little pressing.

nym

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2017, 11:11:05 AM »
Thank you for the responses but I did SO want to try a Cheddar or a Lancashire as my next cheese type. I guess that it's time to start saving for a press...