Author Topic: First Manchego or Hispanico, very nice but too hard...  (Read 1136 times)

artmustel

First Manchego or Hispanico, very nice but too hard...
« on: July 17, 2017, 03:58:45 PM »
I am pretty new to cheesemaking, this is my first experience with other that Queso Fresco. I liked the idea of "Manchego Type", so I tried one of the recipes around that asks for meso, thermo, lipase, etc. I dried the cheese and after some days I covered it on olive oil with paprika. Let it ripen at 55 degrees for a month and opened it. Wow, the flavor is awesome but what I don't care much about my cheese is how hard it is, I would say almost like a cheese for grating. My recipe asked for 3 consecutive presses at 15 pounds for 15 minutes each, and one final press at 30 pounds for 6 hours, then brinning it for 12 hours.

Now, my question since I love its flavor and want to make it again...what would you do if you wanted to get this kind of cheese less hard? Is it about pressing times (for instance, if I reduced the final press to lets say 4 hours and only 20 pounds?) Or there is another trick or technique that I can use to get it the way I'd like? Or, I am just wasting my time because this cheese is supposed to be hard? (I've never tried Manchego before lol)

I used 2 gallons of full cream milk, pasteurized and homogeneized (All I have access to) and of course calcium chloride. The chese, after 1 month, weighted 1.8 lbs.

Thanks in anticipation for your advices!

smcaro@gmail.com

Re: First Manchego or Hispanico, very nice but too hard...
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 06:59:24 PM »
What was the RH environment. That could be a factor in the cheese drying up and becoming essentially all rind. It happened to me all the time with small, 2 gallon batches, until I started vac packing it after the oiling phase...

artmustel

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 07:43:13 PM »