Author Topic: Didn't get a clean break.  (Read 2609 times)

artmustel

Didn't get a clean break.
« on: August 04, 2017, 12:28:58 AM »
Hello, I am a pretty new cheese maker but not a total newbie, I have made several Queso Fresco, 3 Manchegos and 1 Gouda. Today I made a couple of cheeses but on the second one i didn't get a "clean break"; curds were soft and didn't cut well at all. The first cheese I made today was ok, but the second had the problem I described above. Ok, I used same animal rennet for both, the only difference was, on the first one I used Meso and on the second (a Bel Paese), recipe asked for thermo. I followed recipe step by step and i was really shocked that I didn't get a good coagulation. Now, since on this second cheese that failed I used a Thermophillic that I had not used before (and purchased recently) I wanted to ask you guys if a bad, spoiled or outdated culture can cause that problem. If it cannot, then I don't understand where I failed. (Rennet is ok , I used same full cream milk I usually do, I used Calcium Chloride, I use distilled water to dilute the CC and the rennet).

If a bad direct set culture wouldn't cause that, then what else could?

Thanks in anticipation!

Kern

Re: Didn't get a clean break.
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 02:47:27 AM »
Assuming that you used the same milk for both the difference between the two is the culture used.  A meso culture will start reducing the pH at lower temperatures than a thermo.  Rennet works more effectively when there is a pH drop of 0.05 to 0.1 from the initial pH of the milk (6.65 +/- 0.05).  I suspect that is the difference here.  Next time use a combination of meso and thermo at a combined loading level equal to the thermo you used and allow 50% more ripening time.  When you heat the curds to about 103F or above the meso will die and the thermo will kick in.

artmustel

« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2017, 03:03:21 AM »