Author Topic: Holy Colby! :)  (Read 995 times)

Offline Rain Frances

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 8
    • Rainy Day Cheese Making
Holy Colby! :)
« on: September 04, 2017, 11:54:12 PM »
Hi my friends :)

I have a wee question.

I made my first Colby Cheese (recipe from New England Cheese Making Site). Everything went well...it dried nicely with very few mold dots to brush off. I followed all of the instructions. When it came time to vac-seal it, it was too big for my bag, so I cut it in half and to my surprise, I saw holes:

Made: Aug 26th
Dried from: Aug 27th to Sep 2nd (2 days in room temp, 5 days in cheese cave)
Sealed: Sep 3rd

I'm no Colby expert, but from what I have seen, it's not a  A) holy A) cheese is it? ::) I don't mind, I mean it smells divine, though I haven't tasted it yet.

Any thoughts? Thanks!
Rain

Offline Gregore

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 43
  • Default personal text
Re: Holy Colby! :)
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2017, 03:18:28 AM »
Non round holes like you have come from the curd not completely pressed solid , due to many things like ph at time of molding , most likely .  To moisture level , or pressing weight.

No worries it will not cause any harm

Offline Rain Frances

• Mature Cheese
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2017, 02:27:27 PM »
That makes total sense to me Gregore. I don't have a cheese press, I use bricks and dumbbells. This works for the Cheddars because I have a small mold for them. The Colby is a huge cheese and I had to use a plastic colander with a coffee saucer as the follower and I know it didn't get the pressing the Cheddars get. I'm glad to know about this! I've actually ordered a larger mold with a follower for future larger batch cheeses! :)

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2017, 03:31:23 PM »
Agreed - particularly if it smells good, it is fine.
-- Andy

Offline Rain Frances

• Mature Cheese