Author Topic: Ripening confusion...  (Read 1670 times)

EvilTessmacher

Ripening confusion...
« on: September 28, 2017, 12:50:39 AM »
I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on my very first cheese attempt, but I have a question I am not experienced or educated enough to find an answer for.

I have seen several very similar recipes to the one I have (It is a "Bel Paese" type) {I underline and emphasize type, because the handwritten title on the recipe from my Great Grandmother is "Τυρί της χώρας" ("Country Cheese" in Greek)}

It is made in a very similar manner, but for one detail: The ripening period before the addition of the rennet.

I have, as a means of attempting to educate myself, looked up several recipes of similar nature, and all of them either have no ripening period, or a 60 minute ripening period. In addition, there are about 5 different variations in the cultures used. Some of them (like the Bel Paese recipe Here) have 4 different cultures, while others use blends. I did some searching, and found a Direct Set Thermophilic ST culture blend that should work. (Side note: Dang, but there are a whole lot of cultures available out there!)

My question is this: Exactly what is the result in the final flavor of the cheese depending on whether it is ripened for a period of time or not ripened?

I remember my Great Grandmother making this cheese when I was about 6 or 7, and even though I do not remember exactly what she did during the process, I do recall that it had a fairly smooth, creamy, and almost sweet flavor. Almost similar to solid cream, if that makes any sense. It wasn't sharp like a cheddar, didn't have a "twang" like buttermilk, and wasn't earthy like Swiss, or buttery like Havarti. It smelled like cream and butter.

So, what happens to the flavor of the cheese when it is ripened for a period of time before the rennet, and what happens to the flavor when it is not ripened at all?