Author Topic: Is this normal for a Gouda?  (Read 2572 times)

mikey687

Is this normal for a Gouda?
« on: January 04, 2018, 10:43:19 PM »
I was trying to do a natural rind on a Gouda and it was going OK with occasional brushing to keep the outside moulds under control but I had a few openings in the rind from a bad job at pressing and the blue was starting to work it's way inside.

So it's now been 6 weeks, but I decided to cut it in half to check the inside and if was OK, wash it with vinegar and vac bag it.

There is a bit of blowing but not a great deal, but I have no experience if this is normal for a Gouda? I used a standard cheese making mother culture from Holland but it had no details on the cultures inside it so I'm not sure if it contains something that might generate a bit of CO2.

Texture otherwise is nice, it smells OK but a little imature. It melts wonderfully, and tastes pretty good as a melted cheese!

Should I keep going with the vac bagging idea do you think?

Offline scasnerkay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 197
  • Default personal text
Re: Is this normal for a Gouda?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2018, 12:23:06 AM »
It looks like mechanical openings in the cheese. Pressing under the whey will help with that. You can compact the curd with your hands under the whey in the pot, and transfer it in large pieces to the lined form. Or you can pack the form with the curd, and put the form plus curd under the whey in the pot for the first light pressing.
You mention openings in the rind. Perhaps you did not press sufficiently. Did you use cheesecloth? For me that makes a big difference. It helps the whey to leave the cheese, and makes for a smoother rind. I find this true even if I use a microperf form.
Susan

mikey687

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2018, 09:03:57 AM »
Hi Susan,

thank you for the reply. I'd not thought of mechanical openings but it does make sense.