Author Topic: Hello from Pa!  (Read 1055 times)

tangerine

Hello from Pa!
« on: July 11, 2009, 12:47:13 AM »
I'm new to cheesemaking and happy to find a forum!
I started with cream cheese a few months ago, with raw cream, and it worked like magic.....but I haven't been able to make it since (Grrrr) I'm hoping to figure out a way to make raw cream cheese regularly, as it is a family favorite.  I've made small curd cottage cheese, which was delicious, and whole milk ricotta, paneer, 30 minute mozzarella, and that's it so far.  I want to try large curd cottage cheese, and just got some rennet. 
Life with a toddler keeps me pretty busy, so I want to mostly concentrate of soft cheeses for now, until I have more time to focus on hard cheeses.  ;D

ETA: I've been making yogurt for years, and have dabbled with kefir, but the daily checking in and changing is too much for me right now, so I'll stick with raw milk yogurt.  I look forward to one day making parmesan, as it is my favorite cheese, but I'm gonna work my way there slowly.   :)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2009, 12:53:06 AM by tangerine »

Cheese Head

Re: Hello from Pa!
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2009, 02:56:20 AM »
Hi tangerine and welcome to this forum, assume you are in Pennsylvania State in USA?

Good news on your cheese making, looking forward to your input, sadly I'm only using store bought milk here in Houston, Texas.

Lots of good people and posts here.

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2009, 06:04:12 AM »
Welcome Tangerine!

I started making this version of cream cheese about 2 years ago and it's really creamy!

Cream Cheese  - from Tim Smith "Making Artisan Cheese"
sweet, soft, mild-tasting, white cheese

Ingredients:
4 cups (950 ml) non-ultra pasteurized half and half
1 cup (235 ml) non-ultra-pasteurized whipping cream
2 tablespoons (28 ml) buttermilk
Salt
Herbs (optional)

Procedure: