Author Topic: 3rd Try Traditional Mozzarella  (Read 1643 times)

AeonSam

3rd Try Traditional Mozzarella
« on: January 13, 2018, 02:01:27 PM »
Mozzarella isn't my first choice of cheese. I really love long aged hard cheeses but a local farmer is giving me Raw Milk to make cheese with then give back to her. She really likes Mozzarella and Provolone, which I have no experience with.

So here's what I've done with the mistakes that I think I made. Please let me know anything that you observe that can be improved upon.

I've taken Caldwell's recipe and I use it up until I reach the curd heating and stretching phase and I've attempted to use an approach that I see a lot of Italian cheese-makers on Youtube use.

Ingredients:
1. 4 Gallons of Whole Milk
2. 1/4 tsp + 1/16 tsp of TM81 (The recipe calls for 1/4th for 2 gallons of milk, which would make 1/2Tsp for 4 gallons but I was using Raw Milk so I cut it by 40%)
3. 3ml of single strength rennet (The recipe calls for 1/4+ for 2 gallons which is 1.5ml so I doubled it.
4. Did not use Calcium because of Raw Milk
5. Did not use Lipase

Directions:

1. Heat milk to 80F. My starting pH was 6.7
2. Add culture when 80 is reached. Sprinkled and let re-hydrate for 5 minutes.
3. Increase Temp to 90F and maintain for 1 to 1 1/2 hour or until a pH of 6.4 is reached. Mine took the 1 1/2 hours to reach it.
4. Added Rennet and stirred in an up and down motion 20 times. I used a Floc multiplier of 3.5 and it set at 9:30 so 9.5 x 3.5 = 33.25
5. Cut curd at 1/2" and let rest for 10 minutes
6. Stirred curd very gently while increasing the temp to 95F to 98F over the course of 15 Minutes. I went to 97F
7. Let curds settle at the bottom of vat under the whey until a pH of 6.0 to 6.1 is reached. 30 to 60 Minutes. It took 43 Minutes to reach a pH of 6.07
8. Drain whey from curds. I used a siphon hose with a plastic colander