Author Topic: a newbie's cheddar attempt #1  (Read 1615 times)

SpunkyAmos

a newbie's cheddar attempt #1
« on: February 02, 2018, 08:18:08 PM »
I'm totally new at making hard cheese, and yesterday I attempted farmhouse cheddar.  Attached are a few photos.

I took it out of my SturdyPress about 6 hours ago, and already it's nearly dry to the touch.  I turned it over after 5.5 hours for the bottom to dry.  I think next time I need to cut the curds smaller.  I'm using our Brown Swiss very fresh milk (previous night + same day).

The top is not flat due to extra cheesecloth (I hang to drain) being curled upon on the top under the follower, so I need to change that somehow next time.

I'm skeptical about what it will taste like, but to see a finished product, albeit needing much improvement in technique, makes me want to try again! 

Thanks for your help!
Amy.

Frodage4

Re: a newbie's cheddar attempt #1
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 03:05:51 AM »
Nice cheddar, Amy. AC4U

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 09:25:06 AM »
Hi Amy.
You could try unwrapping and turning the cheese more often, particularly early on during the pressing. That may help with the shape and will allow the cheese to drain more evenly. Also, bring the bulk of the cloth up the side of the follower so that you only have one layer between the cheese and the follower.
The other thing that you could do is to remove the cloth at the end of pressing and press at a lighter weight for a period of time to remove the cloth marks.
Why do you think that the curds need to be cut smaller?
- Andrew

SpunkyAmos

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2018, 11:12:32 PM »
Frodage, thanks for the cheese!

Andrew,
thanks for the tips.  a few questions: