Author Topic: Another from Arizona  (Read 2138 times)

CLWest

Another from Arizona
« on: July 12, 2009, 11:11:27 PM »
Hey All!

Chris from the Gilbert AZ area.  I am a fairly accomplished cook and decided it was time to take on the cheese!  Been futzing with the cheese making for a few weeks -  Mozza and ricotta.  It is way too hot outside to work on my pizza oven at this point.

The biggest issue is the freshness of the milk is what I am seeing.  Hardest thing is that there is a dairy about 1/2 mile from my house.   Time to talk with the dairyman I guess. 

Look forward to conversing with all.

Cheese Head

Re: Another from Arizona
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 11:47:19 PM »
Howdy CLWest (Chris) and welcome to this forum!

Outside Pizza Oven sounds great . . . except in Arizona summer!

I make cheese from store bought past & homogenized milk without significant problem. But my only try at moz was a flop. Tha said there are lots who do make it and in our Library Linuxboy has posted a Moz Manual.

Have fun!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2009, 03:17:54 AM »
Hi Chris

Are you making an adobe oven? I would think right about now you could just leave a pan on the sidewalk for a few minutes then add the pizza. I have been toying with the idea of an outdoor woodfired adobe bread oven for awhile but I am having trouble getting the town to approve it.

CLWest

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 11:54:05 PM »
Acually it is a brick oven - gets to about 700F - so the insulation should keep it cooled down from the outside ;-)  At 115 today, coolign down is a dream.

I will look at the mozza manual.  My last batch came out rubbery, though tased good enough for the kids.  The ricotta is much better though my yields were terrible.

Back to the drawing board and time to start with some simpler cheeses - queso fresca methinks.

CW

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese