Author Topic: Greetings from Finland  (Read 8588 times)

riha

Greetings from Finland
« on: July 22, 2009, 08:35:59 PM »
Hello all!

I'm a newbie cheesemaker from Helsinki, Finland. Bought a nice book about cheesemaking a couple years ago, but didn't really get going until recently. Have made lots of paneer for indian cooking, and now I have made some leipäjuusto (Finnish fried cheese), whole cream ricotta, halloumi and my first two batches of Feta are ripening in my cellar.

Next I would like to venture to the world of hard ripened cheeses, but unfortunately I lack some equipment (mainly wax), since there's just no shops in Finland that would sell cheesemaking stuff. Luckily I found out that there is a farm nearby that sells raw cow milk at reasonable prices.

Mold-ripened cheeses would be awesome too, but I'm afraid to get started since I don't have a cave of any kind, just my over-stuffed fridge.

I've been reading this forum for a while now, lurking and absorbing good info. Thought I might as well join and participate since people here seem to be nice and equally (or even more, delightful) cheeseheady than I am.

So greetings everybody!

--Jari Haavisto

Cheese Head

Re: Greetings from Finland
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2009, 10:31:39 PM »
Hi riha/Jari and welcome to the forum, I believe you are first member in Finland so I've just added Finland to our Geographic Boards in case you have any local type stuff you want to post. Also, I could add a Finish language option for this forum's shell language (accessable via top right drop down language menu, default is English), but your English is perfect!

Congrats on your cheeses and looking forward to your input. FYI in our Cheese Making Suppliers list there are several from Europe that could ship you some wax, although sadly none in Finland!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2009, 04:46:35 AM »