Author Topic: Jarlsberg: A Mesophilic Offshoot Of Gouda  (Read 13344 times)

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Jarlsberg: A Mesophilic Offshoot Of Gouda
« on: August 16, 2009, 02:31:22 AM »
I made my 1st Jarlsberg cheese today. I have been toying with various recipes for a few months now. I found a lot of conflicting information about making this cheese so I did some additional internet research and found a nice study done in Norway to help clear up some of the issues I have been having coming up with a recipe.

First of all according to the study this is a mesophilic cheese not a thermophilic cheese so both recipes I had (200 Cheeses and Dansco) were off in the making ingredients process. Both recipes used Streptococcus thermophilus and Lactobacillus helveticus as ingredients. Both recipes I had were almost identical to making gouda. Hmmmmmmm ….

According to the study one of the differences between Emmental and Jarlsberg is that Jarlsberg uses:

Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis biovar. diacetylactis, Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis, Lactococcus lactis subsp. cremoris only (CHOOZIT™ Probat 222 or Mesophile Aromatic Type B culture)

Emmental on the other hand uses:

Streptococcus thermophilus, Lactobacillus helveticus and Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis biovar. diacetylactis, Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis, Lactococcus lactis subsp. cremoris (This would have been CHOOZIT™ Alp D or LH100 + TA61+ MM100) requiring higher acidification temperatures.

From the study I learned a few things about Jarlsberg and Gouda that lead me to develop the recipe I used today:

Raising the cooking temperature results in less whey in the cheese curd and this gives a harder cheese.
The addition of water to the cheese whey allows for regulation of the cheese acidity without simultaneously changing the level of moisture in the cheese.