Author Topic: Cheese Making Books - Recommendations?  (Read 2345 times)

Offline Webmaster

• Administrator
  • Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 40
    • CheeseForum.org
Cheese Making Books - Recommendations?
« on: August 29, 2009, 05:28:42 PM »
Webmasters note, split following posts off of a different thread as separate subject that is of interest to others.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 12:05:42 PM by Webmaster »

SANDQ

Re: Cheese Making Books - Recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2010, 02:14:18 PM »
Thanks for that, can you recommend a good reference book?

SANDQ

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2010, 02:32:26 PM »
Sorry, I too forgot to answer your other question. I am, as you are aware an English expat in Bulgaria, there is in my locale a big British expat community, to whom I have been selling fresh milk and cheese products to for about 18 months, It is this community that have approached me to ask can I start producing cheddar as there is no readily available supply of cheddar here, and what there is, is a very low grade, flavourless, rubbery in texture and expensive. So my market is there already. As for a commercial scale operation, it would be nice and is a thought but we must learn to walk before we can run.

Sailor Con Queso

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2010, 02:36:48 PM »
In most states, it's not legal for you to sell cheeses without a cheesemaking license, so check your state regulations. Here in Kentucky the state watches farmer's markets for contraband cheese (and other unlicensed products). ;) They're just looking out for the public health.

You should focus on learning and making really GREAT cheese and THEN maybe think about selling it. It will take you a year or more before your knowledge and skills are worthy. Give it away to friends and get feedback. When they start begging for more cheese, you're almost there.

MarkShelton

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2010, 04:08:50 AM »