Author Topic: What brand of store bought milk have you had good luck with?  (Read 3896 times)

mgable

What brand of store bought milk have you had good luck with?
« on: August 30, 2009, 08:21:36 PM »
I am just getting started in the cheese making hobby and have tried 2 different brands of milk prairie farms and Sam's club milk. I Have only made 2 cheeses so far and my time to get a clean break is longer than the recipes all called for and the curds seem to break up easily. I am wondering if I should try other brands of store bought milk, add a little more rennet or let the milk ripen longer? I don't have a pH meter yet so I am a little limited right now. The other brands of milk available in my area are walmart brand  country fresh , and meijer brand. That I know of so far. I am not looking to spend a lot on the milk so I don't really want to go organic. Any suggestions?
                                                                                                     Mark

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: What brand of store bought milk have you had good luck with?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2009, 08:32:15 PM »
I have used WalMart milk a few times now and although it will make cheese the curds are not as firm and the taste is more like low fat milk. I am not sure why but even the whole milk seems wimpier than say Hood or some other name brand.

zenith1

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2009, 10:33:30 PM »
I don't know what area you live in, but here in NY if I have to you a commercial milk I have had good success with both crowley's, and Stewart's brands.

Cheese Head

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2009, 12:44:33 AM »
Mark, I buy whole past & homogenized cow's milk from whoever is cheapest here in Houston TX. Sometimes Kroger, sometimes HEB, sometimes Randalls (Safeway I believe) cheapest brands and sometimes SamsClub, and in general never have a poor curd set unless I do something dumb.