Author Topic: Cream Wax and moisture loss  (Read 3329 times)

mjr522

Cream Wax and moisture loss
« on: January 01, 2014, 04:07:06 AM »
After I've coated my cheeses with cream wax, do I need to worry about the RH in my cave?  Because I was going to be gone for so long, I decided it wasn't a good idea to ask my wife to try to maintain the humidity in my cave.  It has been down around 35% for a few weeks now.  I was going to add a coat of regular cheese wax over the cream wax before I left, but now that I'm going to stay here, I don't want to coat them with regular wax if I don't have to.  Anyone have any information about cream wax and moisture loss in low humidity caves?  My cheeses have 3 coats of cream wax.

Spoons

Re: Cream Wax and moisture loss
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2014, 05:45:07 AM »
I'm new to cream waxing too. I've been wondering the same. Linuxboy wrote that the moisture loss is more or less 50% slower than a natural rind. So I guess cave humidity is still relatively important.

Just an opinion here and not fact: if a cheese recipe calls for 90%RH for a natural rind, then I guess 75-80% should be ok. 35% seems a bit low. I put my cream waxed cheese in a ripening container with a little bowl with a moist sponge. It was ok for my yellow coated cheese, but not my black coated one. The coating on the black one was dry but partially got moist and receded to its cream state again  :o I decided to open up the cheese and was surprised that the black coating was rather flaky and hard to take off the cheese. I do admit there wasnt much of a rind on the cheese when I applied the first black coat though.