Author Topic: Hi from Colorado!  (Read 2287 times)

mtncheesemaker

Hi from Colorado!
« on: September 06, 2009, 02:42:45 PM »
Hell-o All!
So happy to have found this group. I live in a small town in SW Colorado and am lucky enough to have access to fresh Jersey cow, goat and sheep milk in season.
I started out making yoghurt a couple of years ago, and graduated to cheeses. I'm self-taught from books but have found a few fellow cheese-heads here, too. I've been making a lot of Camembert type cheeses this summer, which turns out to be easier than I thought. Also make Cheddar which I think is a lot of work! I would like to explore the world of Tomme, which I don't exactly understand yet.
Also make Feta, ricotta, Chevre regularly, and just got some culture to make Mozzarella.
Thanks for all the information on the subject of cheese!
Pam

Captain Caprine

Re: Hi from Colorado!
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2009, 04:38:40 PM »
Hi Pam,
Welcome to the forum ;D
We have been toying with the idea of adding a couple of dairy sheep to our herd, so I look forward to your post talking about your experiences working with sheep milk.
Again welcome!
CC

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2009, 04:48:00 PM »
Welcome aboard Pam!
Your gonna love it here - everyone is so friendly and helpful. Don't forget the pictures everyone loves pictures!

mtncheesemaker

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 04:55:04 PM »
Thanks for the welcomes! As soon as I find my camera, I'll send some pics.
Haven't experimented too much with the sheep milk yet, mostly ricotta and yoghurt which tastes like Creme Fraiche. I have frozen about 16 gallons to use when things slow down here. Right now it is canning season and soon to be wine-making. So much for retirement!
Pam

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 05:55:05 PM »